In addition to buildings and books, this levy provides essential funding to keep our buses rolling with the precious cargo of our kids. We are very proud of the aggressive maintenance and repair we make on our fleet of buses – but our kids also deserve high quality newer buses.

Let’s pass this levy and tell the more than 1,200 kids in the Ravenna School District who ride the buses that they deserve up-to-date, safe and reliable transportation throughout our city and township with this plan:

  • Add 2 new buses each year to our rotation of 20+ school buses – keeping our fleet more cost-effective, safe and reliable.
  • Enable proactive maintenance that saves money and adds longevity to buses.
  • For safety reasons, the state of Ohio asks that schools replace buses for 5 years. We maintain ours for an average of 13 years. Our oldest one was made in 1996! Let’s get some new buses in the mix.

2015-16 Quick Facts:

  • Average daily route miles – 1,165 – that’s 220,185 per school year!
  • Average year non-routine trips – 830 – that’s special transportation that we are required to provided that does not receive state compensation
  • Average year non-routine miles – 20,919
  • Average cost of replacing front tires – $770 for 2 tires – they must match
  • Average cost of replacing a rear tire – $150
  • Average cost of fuel – $90K – this fluctuates due to price of gas – the year before it was $120K
  • Maintenance costs estimated at $45K in 2016-16.


We will adopt the books and technology that have the most up-to-date information and methods. The newest curriculums – especially in math, social studies and science – to include the latest technology. This helps our students compete!


For the safety and comfort of the students, we need to replace the leaky roofs at Carlin and West Park Elementary schools and to replace pipes, repair boilers and update the security in our other buildings.

Vote Yes on Issue 5 on May 2, 2017!

We Support Ravenna Schools

Frank Seman: Mayor of Ravenna

Frank Hairston: Director of Marketing, Civil Rights and Customer service for PARTA

Ric Hughes: Teacher & Founder of All City Musical

Rick Coe: He Started Here

Sharon Spencer: Ward 1 Representative

Matt Harper: Ward 3 Representative

Scott Rainone: Ward 4 Representative

Fred Berry: At Large Representative

Amy Michael: At Large Representative

Bruce Ribelin: At Large Representative

Pat Artz: Ravenna Township Trustee

Gail Pittman: Ravenna Township Fiscal Officer

Vince Coia: Ravenna Township Trustee

Hank Gibson: Ravenna Township Trustee

David Dix

Dennis Honkala: Ravenna Schools Superintendent

Chris Retherford: Ravenna Schools Executive Secretary

Ben Ribelin: Ravenna Schools Director of Teaching & Learning K-5

Stephen York: Ravenna Schools Technology Director

Susan Huth: Ravenna Schools Director of Teaching & Learning 6-12

Sharon Leichlitler: Ravenna Schools Executive Secretary

Phillip Butto, IV: Ravenna Schools Treasurer

Jeff Fowler: President Coleman Foundation Board of Trustees

Michael Kulis: Vice President Coleman Foundation Board of Trustees

Nelson Burns: Secretary/Treasurer Coleman Foundation Board of Trustees

Bradford Ehrhart: Portage Development Board President

Diana Fierle: Portage Development Board Economic Development Specialist

Joanne Townend: Neighborhood Development Services Chairperson

William Elder: Neighborhood Development Services Vice Chair

Heidi Kovach: NDS Board of Directors Secretary

Rod Mishler: Neighborhood Development Services Treasurer

Jeff Mills: Neighborhood Development Services Member

Renee Booher: Neighborhood Development Services Member

Richard Miller: DDS Member

Shirley Capparell: Neighborhood Development Services Member

Pamela Nation Calhoun: Neighborhood Development Services Member

Jack Kohl: Jack Kohl Realty

Amy Adams: She Started Here

Kathleen Smith: She Started Here

Neil Mann: He Started Here

Don Nottingham: He Started Here

Dontez James: He Started Here

Ryan Kuchenbecker: Ravenna Chamber of Commerce Executive Director

Sabrina Christian-Bennett, Bennett Land Title President

Amy Weidman: Print & Sign Express Vice President

Ramona Wise: Huntington Bank Secretary

Debbie Petrone: Schlabig & Associates Treasurer

Mark Frisone: Family & Community Services Board Member

Mike Stader: Allen Aircraft Products Board Member

Michelle King: Trexler Rubber Co. Board Member

Sandra Ladson: Giant Eagle Board Member

Debbie Mann: Allen Aircraft Board Member

Michael Hinton: Maplewood Career Center Board Member

Erica Sadaj: Neighborhood Developmental Services

Joe Bica: President Ravenna City Council